High Time for More Food

12 Aug

One of my favorite differences in food between Italy and the States is how much more seasonal Italy is.  I feel that the availability of fruits and vegetable we buy come and go with the seasons much more than Stateside.  My favorite restaurant in Cremona (Osteria il Foppone) does not have a set menu like I’m used, but instead frequently prints a new one based on the products in season.

The different sweets for each holiday pertains to the pictures I’ve included today.  Most holidays have a special cake or dessert that is only available around the time of its given holiday.  The first three pictures are all of sweets made only for the two weeks before carnival (fat tuesday and the start of lent.)  This limited availability makes them that much better when we can finally eat them each year.  Likewise, but not pictured, there is a special cake called a panettone for Christmas and a different cake called a colomba.  I feel like we have a few specific meals here in the States but not nearly as specific as Italy.

The last three pictures I’ve included are of one of the common street fair/markets that come around in the spring.  Stands like this one featuring Sicilian food make it possible to taste the different regional specialties.  I always like when we are coming into the season that these markets visit Cremona.

Leave a comment