Daily Pictures (Food/Violin Making)

1 Feb

So I’m sort of going with a food theme today.  The first picture is of a sea bass I ate in Agrigento, Sicily – it was the first time I’d had the entire fish on my plate.  There is so much going on in the second picture.  Ultimately, my roommate Nicholas is bending the ribs of his violin, something I hope to be doing this weekend, but whats going on around the rib bending is what makes the picture.  Its something special when you have gorgonzola, bread, olive oil, balsamic, cookies, nutella, wine, and a violin in progress all sharing the same tabletop.

I worked on my ribs a little today, but its tedious and the going is slow.  I’m taking a piece of wood down from 2.4 mm to 1.3 mm using a tool the scrapes the wood off.  Normally you don’t buy violin ribs that thick, but I got mine at a music convention from a bargain bin.

Hopefully I’ll have some pictures of my ribs tomorrow.

Leave a comment